Broken Rock-Mastic Asphalt Concrete

In recent years more and more heavy freight transport comes onto the motor roads. So the load over the road pavement grew very much. The material that satisfies the modern requirements is broken rock-mastic asphalt concrete, developed in 1960s in Germany, widely used in many countries for creation of upper layers of the road coating. European experience shows – service life of broken rock-mastic asphalt layer serves 20 years and even longer. In recent years in Russia also broken rock-mastic asphalt concrete is used for the highways with heavy traffic, motor roads of I and II category.

Broken rock-mastic asphalt concrete is a type of hot-lay asphalt concrete, providing for higher resistance to water, to shearing (formation of ruts) and also enough roughness of the road coating. The components are: fractioned strong broken cube-like rock (70 - 80 % of mass), broken-rock sand, mineral powder, bitumen binding, stabilizer (cellulose fiber).

The main feature that differs this type of asphalt from the conventional ones is the rigid structure of the layer. Such structure provides for the spreading of the load from the surface down through good contact between the rock pieces. This significantly reduces deformation, both lateral and longitudinal.

Main advantages of broken rock-mastic asphalt concrete are: higher factor of engagement between wheels and road surface, higher wear resistance, including the case of spiked wheels, higher water- and frost-resistance, erosion resistance, high resistance to ageing and fatigue cracking, reduced noise level of traffic, cost of servicing and repair of such road is 2 - 4 times lower.

At the company “Road Service of the Republic of Tatarstan” the technology of stone-matrix asphalt-concrete road pavement was assimilated in 2003. On the average, yearly volume of work on laying of stone-matrix asphalt-concrete road pavement at the “Tatavtodor” Company is over 500 thousand sq. m.

Photos

Broken Rock-Mastic Asphalt Concrete
Broken Rock-Mastic Asphalt Concrete

Щебеночно-мастичный асфальтобетон (ЩМА)

За последние годы на автомобильных дорогах существенно возросло количество тяжелого грузового транспорта. Следовательно, возросли и нагрузки, воспринимаемые дорожным покрытием. Одним из материалов, отвечающих современным требованиям, является щебеночно-мастичный асфальтобетон, разработанный в 60-х годах в Германии и нашедший широкое применение во многих зарубежных странах при устройстве верхних слоев дорожных покрытий. Европейский опыт свидетельствует: срок службы покрытий из ЩМА может достигать 20 и более лет. В последние годы и в России щебеночно-мастичный асфальтобетон находит применение на трассах с интенсивным движением, на автомобильных дорогах I и II технической категории.

ЩМА – разновидность горячего асфальтобетона, обеспечивающая одновременно водонепроницаемость, сдвигоустойчивость (сопротивление колееобразованию), шероховатость покрытия. Состав ЩМА: фракционный прочный кубовидный щебень (70 - 80 % по массе), песок из отсевов дробления горных пород, минеральный порошок, битумное вяжущее, стабилизирующая добавка (целлюлозные волокна).

Основное отличие ЩМА от обычных асфальтобетонов заключается в его жесткой каркасной структуре в слое покрытия. Такая структура обеспечивает передачу нагрузки с поверхности в нижележащие слои через непосредственно контактирующие друг с другом отдельные крупные частицы каменного материала. Тем самым достигается существенное снижение деформации как в продольном, так и в поперечном направлении.

Основные преимущества ЩМА: повышение коэффициента сцепления колес с дорогой, износостойкость, в том числе к действию шипованных шин, повышенная водо- и морозостойкость, эрозионная стойкость, большая устойчивость к старению и к усталостным трещинам, снижение уровня шума при движении автомобиля, снижение затрат на содержание и ремонт дорог в 2 - 4 раза.

Компания «Дорожный сервис РТ» освоила технологию устройства дорожного покрытия из щебеночно-мастичного асфальтобетона в 2003 году. Среднегодовой объем укладки щебеночно-мастичного асфальтобетона в компании Татавтодор составляет более 500 000 квадратных метров.

Фотогалерея

Щебеночно-мастичный асфальтобетон (ЩМА)
Щебеночно-мастичный асфальтобетон (ЩМА)