Production and technology

Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад

Natural asphalt has been produced from Pitch Lake since 1850. Nowadays, Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago, Ltd. openly produces this material which is transported to Germany to be processed by Carl Ungewitter Trinidad Lake Asphalt GmbH & Co. Due to vast variety of forms of the additions they may be used in ll of the technological modes of production at asphalt-concrete plants, for example, JSC “Tatavtodor” used NAF-501 and Epure Z 0/8 additions. For more information about the additions please visit http://www.ungewitter.de/

The key property of natural asphalt as an addition to “synthesized” is that it slows down the oxidation in the adhesive, which was proved many times by tests in rolling thin film oven (RTFOT). The average loss of fusing temperature of the natural asphalt after processing at 163 °C with hot air is 3 °C only, whereas same compounded asphalt without the addition loses about 6-7 °C. In 2016 specialists from JSC “Tatavtodor” constructed two sites with open-porous asphalt-concrete surface, using the addition at one of them. In two year’s time we can state that addition of natural asphalt improves cohesive characteristics of the adhesive thus improving performance characteristics of the surface.

Application of NAF-501 modification of natural asphalt allows construction of asphalt-concrete surfaces with stabilizing agents. Sites made of macadam-and-mastics asphalt (grade 10), open-porous asphalt ПА-15, and porous mastic asphalt-concrete ПМА-10 (a new asphalt type) were constructed with addition of this modification. Epure Z 0/8 addition was used in 2018 in construction of test sites at the entrance to production base of Suburban branch (Laishevsky district, Usady settlement)/ the sites were constructed with asphalt-concrete types prepared according to SP-19 mix design (100 gyrations). These mixes feature high residual porosity up to 7% in the road surface, and less asphalt ratio in the mix.

The results of studies of the adhesives, conducted by JSC “Tatavtodor”, makes it clear that application of natural asphalts and other organic and synthetic additions enhances performance characteristics of asphalt-concrete surfaces, including their durability.

Photos

Using of natural bitumen from Pitch Lake (Trinidad island) in production of asphalt-concrete
Using of natural bitumen from Pitch Lake (Trinidad island) in production of asphalt-concrete
Using of natural bitumen from Pitch Lake (Trinidad island) in production of asphalt-concrete
Using of natural bitumen from Pitch Lake (Trinidad island) in production of asphalt-concrete
Using of natural bitumen from Pitch Lake (Trinidad island) in production of asphalt-concrete

Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад

Природный битум из озера Пич-лейк добывается с 1850 года. Сегодня открытой добычей этого материала занимается компания Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago, Ltd. Добытый битум транспортируется в Германию и перерабатывается там компанией Carl Ungewitter Trinidad Lake Asphalt GmbH & Co. Модификации форм выпуска добавок позволяют применять их практически во всех технологических режимах производственных процессов асфальтобетонных заводов. АО «Татавтодор» использовало в своей работе формы выпуска NAF-501 и Epure Z 0/8. Подробнее о модификациях можно узнать на сайте производителя http://www.ungewitter.de/

Отличительной особенностью природного битума в качестве добавки к «синтетическому» является то, что с его применением окислительный процесс в вяжущем значительно замедляется. Данные неоднократно подтверждаются тестами в печи краткосрочного старения в тонкой пленке RTFOT. Средняя потеря температуры плавления природного битума после его обработки при температуре 163 0С с подачей горячего воздуха составляет всего 3 0С, при этом тот же компаундированный битум без данной добавки теряет 6-7 0С. В 2016 году АО «Татавтодор» провело работы по устройству 2х участков с покрытием из открыто-пористого асфальтобетона с применением и без применения данной добавки. По истечении 2х лет можно сделать следующий вывод: наличие природного битума влияет на когезионные свойства вяжущего в составе асфальтобетона, что подтверждается лучшими эксплуатационными характеристиками.

Использование природного битума из о.Тринидад модификации NAF-501 позволяет устраивать покрытия из асфальтобетонов, в составе которых применяется стабилизирующая добавка. С применением данной модификации были устроены участки из ЩМА-10, открыто-пористого асфальтобетона ПА-15 и пористо-мастичного асфальтобетона ПМА-10, являющегося новым видом. Модификация добавки Epure Z 0/8 использовалась в 2018 году при устройстве экспериментальных участков при въезде на производственную базу Пригородного филиала (Лаишевский район, с. Усады). Участки были устроены с применением асфальтобетонов, изготовленных на основе объемного проектирования SP-19 (100 гираций). Известно, что данные смеси отличаются повышенной остаточной пористостью, достигающей в покрытии до 7%, и сравнительно меньшим содержанием битума в составе.

Результаты проводимых АО «Татавтодор» изучений вяжущих позволяют утверждать, что применение природных битумов и иных органических и синтетических добавок в их составе влияет на конечные эксплуатационные характеристики асфальтобетонного покрытия, включая его долговечность.

Фотогалерея

Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад
Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад
Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад
Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад
Применение в составе асфальтобетонов природного битума из озера Пич-лейк, о. Тринидад